Mar 4, 2010


"Unkie is a Japanese instrumental rock band formed in 2006. Originally they only intended to play one gig together but ended up forming a permanent band. At first only playing at live gigs, but later decided to record an album named “the Price of Fame”, which was released in July 2007. 

Their second album “too many secrets” was recorded in Chicago and produced by recording engineer Steve Albini of Nirvana fame, and released in October 2008.

The band consists of three members: TOKIE on bass, Yutaka Aoki on guitar and Hiroshi Kido on drums, all of which have played in established Japanese bands earlier.

Their latest single ‘Save it’ was released on Sep 4th as an online release only. At time of writing, it has reached the #1 spot on the myspace ringtone download charts in Japan."  

Great instrumental rock from Japan, plus Tokie is one of my favorite bassist -you'll know why if you give her a listen- and she is really high in the world ranking of the hottest bassist evarrr.

Personal favorite songs:  Butterfly, Shot, Tecaba, Save It, Days, Perchta, Karma, Body 

1 Tecaba
2 spike
3 love addict
4 Chinese red
5 press (At the end of the day)
6 bug
7 crap
8 crumble
9 Butterfly

01 – Blink
02 – Code
03 – Days
04 – Secret
05 – Perchta
06 – Rat Race
07 – Inside
08 – Karma
09 – Shot
10 – Body


1 Save It

No comments: